Company Logo

Sprachauswahl

Login Form

To the history of the Collie in Switzerland

On December 28th, 1902, the Swiss Collie Club was founded in Basel as a secondary section to the already existing parent Continental Collie Club. The first registration in the SHSB (the Swiss pedigree book for dogs), however, took place back in the year 1889, it was the tri-coloured male called “Dash”, imported by Max Feer, then president of the Continental Collie Club. Max Feer was also appointed president of the Swiss Cynological Society SCS (Swiss Kennel Club) during the early years and later became the first honorary member of the SCS.

Max Feer had his first success on exhibitions with his male “Thur Ali Baba”, which he had bred himself. The dog was born March 13th, 1888, and was awarded second prize on the exhibition in Cologne in 1889, honorary prize in 1889 in Berne and 2nd prize in Berlin in 1890. Another one of Max Feer’s dogs, which he had bred himself and which proved to be successful as a breeding dog and during shows, was the female “Thur Fantasy”.

In 1931 eight longhaired Rough collies were shown on the IHA in Geneva as well as four longhaired Rough and three shorthaired dogs on the NHA in Solothurn. Colonel Lutz, then president of the Swiss Collie Club, had imported the three shorthaired collies “Laund Lawful”, “Laund Lowe” and “Laund Larle”, all brothers and sisters from one litter, from the famous kennel “Laund” from Mr. M. M. Standsfield.

About 1000 collies were registered in the SHBS up to the year 1949, that is within 60 years after the first registration. During the booming years 1972 and 1973 as many as 524 and 550 collies respectively were listed. For more than 100 years again and again collies were imported from England for breeding in Switzerland. Thanks to their good quality renowned kennels such as

LAUND, EDEN, LADYPARK DUNSINANE, ROCKEBY, SANDIARE

etc. were turned to. Right after the 2nd world war Switzerland, too, was, thanks to its possibilities, asked to export dogs by various countries in Europe. Nowadays valuable and excellent breeding animals are imported from almost all European countries.

Until the foundation of its own breeding clubs the Swiss Collie Club took care of

the Shetland Sheepdog breeding (Sheltie) until 1954,

the Bearded-Collie breeding until 1979,

and the Border-Collie breeding until 1985.

In 1973 a group of 51 people founded the “Groupe Romand”, an section of the Swiss Collie-Club, for the French part of Switzerland.

Dog breeding has always and will always have its ups and downs. The Swiss Collie-Club decided to have the nature and character of the dogs tested on a voluntary basis under peaceful circumstances. The test became obligatory for all short- as well as longhaired collies in 1990. As for hygienic measures, since 1994 an HD test as well as CEA and PRA tests have become compulsory. Since our capable comrade and family dog nowadays practically never guards sheep anymore, it is our duty to see to it that in our highly technical world with its constant noise, the hectic life and all the stress, which we ourselves cause, and in spite of all the strains, the collie may lead a normal life, appropriate to its dog’s nature. Today it is us, the family, that is the measure of many things for the collie, and there are many various possibilities for playing and sports such as rule, agility, etc, where it can romp about. Today, it is our responsibility to make good use of our time and create such surroundings for our dogs that in the future we will find it worthwhile to think back of the past.

Our motto is

“health – character – beauty”.

 

FaLang translation system by Faboba



Powered by Joomla!®. Designed by: joomla templates hottest actors Valid XHTML and CSS.

Company Logo

Sprachauswahl

Login Form

Geschichtliches über den Collie in der Schweiz

Am 28. Dezember 1902 wurde der Schweizerische Collie-Club in Basel, als Untersektion des bereits bestehenden Konti-nentalen Collie-Clubs gegründet. Die ersten Eintragungen ins SHSB (Schweizerische Hundestammbuch) erfolgten jedoch bereits im Jahre 1889, es war dies der Tricolor-Collie-Rüde "Dash", importiert von Max Feer, dem damaligen Präsidenten des Kontinentalen Collie-Clubs. Max Feer war in den Gründungsjahren der SKG auch deren Präsident und wurde später das 1. Ehrenmitglied der SKG.

Die ersten grossen Ausstellungserfolge erreichte Max Feer mit seinem selbst gezüchteteten Rüden "Thur Ali Baba", Born 13.3.1888, mit Ausstellungserfolgen 1889 in Köln mit einem 2. Platz, mit einem Ehrenpreis 1889 in Bern und 1890 mit einen 2. Platz in Berlin. Die Hündin "Thur Fantasy" gezüchtet und im Besitze von Max Feer war eine weitere, erfolgreiche Zucht- und Ausstellungshündin.

1931 wurden an der IHA in Genf 8 Rauhaar-Collies ausgestellt und im gleichen Jahr an der NHA in Solothurn 4 Rauhaar- und 3 Kurzhaar-Collies. Der damalige Präsident Oberst Lotz, importierte die drei ausgestellten Kurzhaar-Wurfgeschwister "Laund Lawful" sowie "Laund Lowe" und "Laund Larle" aus der berühmten englischen Zuchtstätte "Laund" von Mr. M. M.Standsfield.

Bis zum Jahre 1949, also innerhalb von 60 Jahren seit der ersten Eintragung ins SHSB, wurden ca. 1000 Collies im SHSB registriert. In den Boom-Jahren 1972 und 1973 erfolgten Rekorteintragungen von 524 bzw, 550 Collies. Seit mehr als 100 Jahren werden immer wieder Collies aus England für die Schweizer Zucht importiert. Gefragt waren immer wieder bekannte Zuchtstätten dank ihrer guten Qualität so zum Beispiel:

LAUND, EDEN, LADYPARK, DUNSINANE, ROCKEBY, SANDIACRE

und weitere. Unmittelbar nach dem 2. Weltkrieg war auch die Schweiz, dank ihren Möglichkeiten, auch für diverse Länder Europas eine mögliche Ansprechstation. Heute werden praktisch aus allen europäischen Ländern wertvolle und herrvorragende Zuchttiere importiert.

Bis zur Gründung von eigenen Rasseclubs betreute der Schweizerische Collie-Club

  • bis zum Jahre 1954 die Rasse Shetland Sheepdog (Sheltie)
  • bis zum Jahre 1979 die Rasse Bearded-Collie und
  • bis zum Jahre 1985 die Rasse Border-Collie

 

1973 wurde mit einer Gründerzahl von 51 Mitglieder, eine Untersektion des Schwei-zerischen Collie-Clubs, die "Groupe Romand" für die Westschweiz, gegründet.

Immer wieder gibt es in einer Hundezucht Höhen aber auch Tiefen. Der Schweizerische Collie-Club hat ab 1983 die Einführung einer fakultative Wesensprüfung in friedlicher Situation vorgesehen, die dann 1990 für alle Kurz- und Langhaar-Collies obligatorisch wurde. Die zuchthygienischen Massnahmen umfassten ab 1994 die obligatorische HD-Kontrolle und im gleichen Jahr auch die CEA und PRA-Kontrollen. Da unser leistungsfähiger Kamerad und Familienhund heute praktisch keine Schafe mehr hütet, ist es unsere Pflicht und unsere Aufgabe, dafür zu sorgen, dass er sich in der heutigen Zeit mit der hochtechnisierten Umwelt, mit dem Lärm, der Hektik und dem von uns selbst produzierten Stress zurechtfindet und trotz all diesen Belastungen, ein normales, vernünftiges Hundeleben führen kann. Als Ersatz und Ausgleich sind wir, die Familie, für ihn heute das Mass und zum Austoben gibt es für ihn andere, diverse Spiel- und Sportmöglichkeiten wie Rule, Agility usw. Heute ist es nun unsere Aufgabe die Zeit zu nutzen, etwas daraus zu machen und die Gegenwart für unsere Hunde so zu gestalten, dass es in Zukunft wert ist der Vergangenheit zu gedenken.

Unser Motto lautet:

Gesundheit – Wesen – Schönheit.

 

 

FaLang translation system by Faboba



Powered by Joomla!®. Designed by: joomla templates hottest actors Valid XHTML and CSS.